Archive for October, 2016

Lisa Heldke, 2016 Faculty Service Award Winner, Philosophy Department

Lisa Heldke was selected as the 2016 recipient of the Gustavus Faculty Service Award. Presented each year at Founder’s Day, this award is the highest accolade a Gustavus faculty member can receive for distinguished service activities.

Joyce Sutphen (English)

Joyce Sutphen was interviewed on WCCO Radio after Bob Dylan won the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Ursula Lindqvist, Kjerstin Moody, and David Jessup (Scandinavian Studies)

Ursula Lindqvist, Kjerstin Moody, and David Jessup participated in the annual Sweden Symposium of the Association of Swedish Teachers and Researchers in America (ASTRA) held in Boulder, Colorado, October 20-22. This year’s theme was “Sweden in the World, the World in Sweden.” This was Professor Lindqvist’s final year presiding over the organization as president, so […]

Joaquín Villanueva (Geography)

Joaquín published a chapter “Rights” in Mark Jayne and Kevin Ward’s (2016) Urban Theory: New Critical Perspectives, Routledge. The book introduces urban theoretical debates to undergraduate and early graduate students.

Yumiko Oshima-Ryan and Barb Leibundgth (Music)

Yumiko Oshima-Ryan and Barb Leibundgth are invited to perform for the College Music Society’s Showcase concert during the Fifty-Ninth National Conference in Santa Fe in October. Oshima-Ryan (piano) and Leibundgth (flute) will perform “Digital Bird Suite” by Japanese composer Takashi Yoshimatsu (b. 1953). The CMS Program Committee has selected the work for presentation during one […]

Ana Adams (Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures)

Ana Adams published an article titled “Humor étnico en El Conde Lucanor” in Ehumanista, Journal of Iberian Studies 34, 407-423.

Jill Locke (Political Science)

The Institute for Advanced Study featured an excerpt from Jill Locke’s book, Democracy and the Death of Shame, on the front page of its website. Locke was a member at the Institute during her 2014-15 sabbatical.

Dwight Stoll (Chemistry)

Dwight Stoll received funding from the Agilent Technologies Foundation for the one-year project “Development of 2D-LC-MS/MS Methods for the Analysis of Host Cell Proteins (HCPs) in Monoclonal Antibody Materials.” Dwight also received funding through a University of St. Thomas grant from the State of Minnesota Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund for the three-year project […]

The Provost’s Award for Teaching Excellence to a Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Member

The Office of the Provost is excited to announce the newly-created Provost’s Award for Teaching Excellence to a Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Member. This award was created to recognize a Gustavus non-tenure-track faculty member for significant contributions to teaching and learning. Eligibility: This award is open to any continuing, adjunct, visiting, or part-time faculty member as defined […]

Eric Carlson, 2016 Carlson Award Winner, History Department

Eric Carlson It is my great honor to introduce this year’s Carlson winner…since good teaching requires good students, I am going to read some quotes students have written about this outstanding teacher. One student wrote: “His investment in education for himself and his students shows through his enthusiasm in and out of the classroom and […]