Entries tagged with ‘political science’

Jill Locke (Political Science)

Jill Locke published an essay, “Against Nostalgia: The Political Theory of Ida B. Wells,” in American Political Thought: An Alternative Reader (Routledge Press, 2017).

Jill Locke, 2017 Faculty Scholarly Achievement Award, Political Science Department

Jill Locke Jill Locke was selected as the 2017 recipient of the Gustavus Faculty Scholarly Achievement Award. Presented each year at Honors Day, this award is the highest accolade a Gustavus faculty member can receive for distinguished scholarly accomplishments.

Mimi Gerstbauer (Political Science)

This April, twenty Gustavus students and Mimi Gerstbauer traveled to the Arrowhead Model United Nations conference in Sault Ste. Marie, MI. Priscilla Otero ’18 (Political Science) and co-president of the student club, won the Best Delegate Award on the Security Council, in her role as China. Jason Alper ’19 (Political Science) won the Best Delegate […]

Kate Knutson (Political Science) and Sarah Ruble (Religion)

Kate Knutson and Sarah Ruble led a session at the 36th Annual Conference of the First Year Experience. The session was entitled “Using Peer Mentors for Advising in the First-Term Seminar” and focused on recent efforts at Gustavus to improve advising outcomes by incorporating peer mentors into FTS classes and developing an advising curriculum.

Mimi Gerstbauer (Political Science)

Mimi Gerstbauer published U.S. Foreign Policy and the Politics of Apology with Routledge (2017). The book addresses important questions about the politics of apology and reconciliation in relation to some of the most controversial cases of U.S. foreign policy over the past 50 years: Vietnam, Nicaragua, and the most recent war in Iraq.

Jill Locke (Political Science)

The Institute for Advanced Study featured an excerpt from Jill Locke’s book, Democracy and the Death of Shame, on the front page of its website. Locke was a member at the Institute during her 2014-15 sabbatical.

Alisa Rosenthal, 2012 Carlson Award Winner, Political Science Department

Alisa Rosenthal Horace Mann, the father of modern public education in America, once said, “A teacher—who is attempting to teach without inspiring the pupil with a desire to learn—is hammering on cold iron.” The 2012 Edgar Carlson Award winner knows NOTHING about hammering on cold iron, as evidenced by the following statements from students: “This […]

Richard Leitch, 2008 Carlson Award Winner, Political Science Department

Richard Leitch This year’s Recipient of the Edgar M. Carlson Award has received a large number of nominations, including by student majors and non-majors, first-year students through seniors. One of those students wrote, “This faculty member brings an amazing enthusiasm into the classroom. He becomes more than just your teacher but also your colleague. [He] […]

Christopher Gilbert, 1996 Carlson Award Winner, Political Science Department

Christopher Gilbert In deed and in truth the faculty at Gustavus Adolphus College is a community of highly educated persons dedicated to teaching. Year after year, class after class, students move to take their places in a glorious alumnae that remember and continue to praise the many fine teachers who have inspired them and have […]

Ronald Christenson, 1993 Carlson Award Winner, Political Science Department

Ronald Christenson The Edgar M. Carlson Award for Distinguished Teaching is awarded each year to a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional skill and talent as an instructor. Nominations from faculty and students are carefully evaluated by a panel of former Edgar M. Carlson Award winners and discussed at great length before making a recommendation […]